NASCAR started in 1949 and has grown into one of the most popular sports in the world. Learn everything there is to know about NASCAR on the NASCAR Channel.

The 1970 NASCAR Grand National season was exciting despite the introduction of restrictor plates. Higher speeds brought greater risks to the drivers causing NASCAR to mandate the plates. Get the results from each race of the 1970 season.

The 1971 NASCAR Winston Cup season was the first year for the new Winston sponsor. This season would also mark the last time NASCAR would use a schedule that featured more than 40 races. See the results from the 48 races of the 1971 season.

The 1972 NASCAR Winston Cup season had leaner meaner schedule of 31 races. The Winston Cup schedule eliminated all of the shorter races that consisted of 100 and 125 miles in total duration. See the complete results for the 1972 NASCAR season.

Lee Petty was not a hard charger -- he was the great calculator, applying the strategies of a chess player. In his career he won 54 times and had top-ten finishes 332 times in 427 career NASCAR Grand National starts.

Ned Jarrett once used his weekend NASCAR winnings to cover a bad check he wrote for a new car. In his career, his gambler's luck and his own daring led him to 50 NASCAR Grand National win.

By the 1962 NASCAR Grand National season, cars had bigger engines and were reaching speeds above 150 mph. All the major automakers returned to NASCAR to form factory teams. Get results of all the 1962 NASCAR races.

Joe Weatherly was the unlikely winner of the 1963 NASCAR Grand National championship. Also this year NASCAR mandated a limit on engine displacement which helped keep parts from becoming obsolete. Learn the results from each of the 55 NASCAR races of 1963.

The 1964 NASCAR Grand National season was supercharged by Chrysler's new Hemi engine. This monster engine gave Richard Petty the power to run 20 miles per hour faster than the year before. See the results from all 62 NASCAR races in 1964.

NASCAR's 2005 NEXTEL Cup winner Tony Stewart was decided by the very last race. Unfortunately, two of NASCAR's biggest stars -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon --failed to make the Chase. Review the exciting season with our 2005 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup results.

Despite challenge from Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson nabbed the 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup. Johnson won six races this season and finally put enough consistency together to win the championship. Review each race with our 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup results.

With the Chrysler Hemi banned from NASCAR Ford cars dominated the 1965 NASCAR Grand National season. NASCAR put a set of rules in place that worked to even out the playing field which is what did the Hemi in. Learn the results of all 55 races of 1965.

The 1985 NASCAR Winston Cup title was captured by three-time winner Darrell Waltrip. This season featured the inaugural running of The Winston which is a nonpoints race for NASCAR's all-stars. See results from the entire 1985 NASCAR season here.

During the 1986 NASCAR Winston Cup series, Dale Earnhardt earned the nickname "The Intimadator." The nickname was inspired by Earnhardt's aggressive driving style that often left opponents in up in smoke. See all race results from the 1986 NASCAR season.

David Pearson captured the 1966 NASCAR Grand National title on the strength of his 15 wins. Chrysler also returned this year, which brought a much-needed boost in spirit to the series. See the results from each race during the 1966 season.

For the 1987 NASCAR Winston Cup season, champion Dale Earnhardt finished 489 points ahead of Bill Elliott. Earnhardt won six of the first eight races that set the pace for him to take the championship by April. See all race results from 1987 NASCAR.

Richard Petty ruled the 1967 NASCAR Grand National season with a record 27 wins. Even more impressive. Petty managed to put together a 10-race consecutive winning streak. Get the full results of all 49 races in the 1967 NASCAR season here.

The 1968 NASCAR Grand National season was thrilling with two drivers winning 16 races each. Richard Petty and David Pearson duked it out for the championship while new tracks in Michigan and Texas were built. Get all the results of the races in the 1968 season.

The 1988 NASCAR Winston Cup title was closely contended by Bill Elliott, Rusty Wallace, and Dale Earnhardt. Elliott held off a late-season charge by Rusty Wallace and took the hotly contested championship title. See all 1988 NASCAR race results here.

New superspeedways thrilled the crowds during the 1969 NASCAR Grand National season. The Alabama International Motor Speedway opened for the Talladega 500 with a caution-free race.

Lloyd Seay's prodigious racing talent was sadly wasted when he was murdered at a young age. Bill France heralded Seay as the greatest stock car driver that ever lived, though Seay was killed before NASCAR was founded.

The veteran drivers were challenged in 1990 by a new group of younger competitors eager to win the title. The 1990 NASCAR Winston Cup championship featured a close battle between Dale Earnhardt and Mark Martin. See all 1990 NASCAR race results here.

Red Byron's courage on and off the racetrack made him a legendary NASCAR driver and personality. He is famous for winning the first NASCAR championship title in 1948 and the Strictly Stock title in 1949.

The popularity of NASCAR rose dramatically and for the first time every race was covered live on television. The 1989 NASCAR Winston Cup title was taken by first-time champion Rusty Wallace. See all results from the 1989 NASCAR Grand National season here.

The championship was a virtual lock for Earnhardt after taking the lead in the points standing in early May. The 1991 NASCAR Winston Cup championship went to Dale Earnhardt the fifth in his career. See all race results from the 1991 NASCAR season here.

Herb Thomas is NASCAR's all-time winningest driver and was its first true superstar. He won 48 NASCAR Grand National races and was the leading race winner for three consecutive seasons. Learn about the career and statistics of this racing great.