NASCAR Season Recaps

NASCAR season recaps sum up the history of the sport. In these NASCAR season recaps you can track the successes and failures of various racing teams. Improve your knowledge of NASCAR history by checking out these great NASCAR season recaps.

In 2007, Jimmie Johnson squeaked out a win, despite some team problems. Check out this page for the full 2007 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Results.

2008 was Jimmy Johnson's year. Get a full recap, timeline and breakdown of the 2008 Sprint Cup Series right here.

2008 market the 50th running of the Daytona 500. Get the full points breakdown for this emotional year in NASCAR.

Jimmy Johnson dominated the 2007 NASCAR Sprint Cup Season, but the road to victory had some bumps along the way. Relive the 2007 NASCAR season in this season recap.

In 1973, David Pearson had a record-breaking year, winning 11 races during the course of the NASCAR season. Get the results from all 28 races of the year.

Despite a fuel shortage, the 1974 NASCAR Winston Cup season delivered plenty of thrills. NASCAR made the decision that year to shorten the length of every race by 10 percent. Get the results of all 30 races of the 1974 NASCAR season.

The 1975 NASCAR Winston Cup season saw Richard Petty win 13 races and his sixth championship. Every car used the same size engine this year in order to increase competition and create a level playing field. Get the results of all 30 races from the 1975 season.

The 1970 NASCAR Grand National season was exciting despite the introduction of restrictor plates. Higher speeds brought greater risks to the drivers causing NASCAR to mandate the plates. Get the results from each race of the 1970 season.

The 1971 NASCAR Winston Cup season was the first year for the new Winston sponsor. This season would also mark the last time NASCAR would use a schedule that featured more than 40 races. See the results from the 48 races of the 1971 season.

The 1972 NASCAR Winston Cup season had leaner meaner schedule of 31 races. The Winston Cup schedule eliminated all of the shorter races that consisted of 100 and 125 miles in total duration. See the complete results for the 1972 NASCAR season.

By the 1962 NASCAR Grand National season, cars had bigger engines and were reaching speeds above 150 mph. All the major automakers returned to NASCAR to form factory teams. Get results of all the 1962 NASCAR races.

Joe Weatherly was the unlikely winner of the 1963 NASCAR Grand National championship. Also this year NASCAR mandated a limit on engine displacement which helped keep parts from becoming obsolete. Learn the results from each of the 55 NASCAR races of 1963.

The 1964 NASCAR Grand National season was supercharged by Chrysler's new Hemi engine. This monster engine gave Richard Petty the power to run 20 miles per hour faster than the year before. See the results from all 62 NASCAR races in 1964.

NASCAR's 2005 NEXTEL Cup winner Tony Stewart was decided by the very last race. Unfortunately, two of NASCAR's biggest stars -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon --failed to make the Chase. Review the exciting season with our 2005 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup results.

Despite challenge from Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson nabbed the 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup. Johnson won six races this season and finally put enough consistency together to win the championship. Review each race with our 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup results.

With the Chrysler Hemi banned from NASCAR Ford cars dominated the 1965 NASCAR Grand National season. NASCAR put a set of rules in place that worked to even out the playing field which is what did the Hemi in. Learn the results of all 55 races of 1965.

The 1985 NASCAR Winston Cup title was captured by three-time winner Darrell Waltrip. This season featured the inaugural running of The Winston which is a nonpoints race for NASCAR's all-stars. See results from the entire 1985 NASCAR season here.

During the 1986 NASCAR Winston Cup series, Dale Earnhardt earned the nickname "The Intimadator." The nickname was inspired by Earnhardt's aggressive driving style that often left opponents in up in smoke. See all race results from the 1986 NASCAR season.

David Pearson captured the 1966 NASCAR Grand National title on the strength of his 15 wins. Chrysler also returned this year, which brought a much-needed boost in spirit to the series. See the results from each race during the 1966 season.

For the 1987 NASCAR Winston Cup season, champion Dale Earnhardt finished 489 points ahead of Bill Elliott. Earnhardt won six of the first eight races that set the pace for him to take the championship by April. See all race results from 1987 NASCAR.

Richard Petty ruled the 1967 NASCAR Grand National season with a record 27 wins. Even more impressive. Petty managed to put together a 10-race consecutive winning streak. Get the full results of all 49 races in the 1967 NASCAR season here.

The 1968 NASCAR Grand National season was thrilling with two drivers winning 16 races each. Richard Petty and David Pearson duked it out for the championship while new tracks in Michigan and Texas were built. Get all the results of the races in the 1968 season.

The 1988 NASCAR Winston Cup title was closely contended by Bill Elliott, Rusty Wallace, and Dale Earnhardt. Elliott held off a late-season charge by Rusty Wallace and took the hotly contested championship title. See all 1988 NASCAR race results here.

New superspeedways thrilled the crowds during the 1969 NASCAR Grand National season. The Alabama International Motor Speedway opened for the Talladega 500 with a caution-free race.

The veteran drivers were challenged in 1990 by a new group of younger competitors eager to win the title. The 1990 NASCAR Winston Cup championship featured a close battle between Dale Earnhardt and Mark Martin. See all 1990 NASCAR race results here.