Auto Racing

Auto Racing includes information about different styles of racing and auto racing safety. Learn about auto racing on the Auto Racing Channel.

The 1975 NASCAR Winston Cup season saw Richard Petty win 13 races and his sixth championship. Every car used the same size engine this year in order to increase competition and create a level playing field. Get the results of all 30 races from the 1975 season.

Fred Lorenzen was 15 years old during his first experience in a beefed-up stock car, trying to flip it instead of race it. As a pro driver in 1964, Lorenzen ran five races in which he led 1,679 of 1,953 laps. Learn more about this driven professional.

Junior Johnson, like many NASCAR pioneers, cut his driving teeth while running moonshine in the American south. Johnson has a dual claim to NASCAR greatness: as a driver and as a racing team owner. Read more about Johnson's feats in this article.

Richard Petty, also known as King Richard, took just 10 years to become the number-one driver in NASCAR history. One autumn, he even won 10 consecutive races on his way to 200 career wins.

The 1970 NASCAR Grand National season was exciting despite the introduction of restrictor plates. Higher speeds brought greater risks to the drivers causing NASCAR to mandate the plates. Get the results from each race of the 1970 season.

The 1971 NASCAR Winston Cup season was the first year for the new Winston sponsor. This season would also mark the last time NASCAR would use a schedule that featured more than 40 races. See the results from the 48 races of the 1971 season.

The 1972 NASCAR Winston Cup season had leaner meaner schedule of 31 races. The Winston Cup schedule eliminated all of the shorter races that consisted of 100 and 125 miles in total duration. See the complete results for the 1972 NASCAR season.

Lee Petty was not a hard charger -- he was the great calculator, applying the strategies of a chess player. In his career he won 54 times and had top-ten finishes 332 times in 427 career NASCAR Grand National starts.

Ned Jarrett once used his weekend NASCAR winnings to cover a bad check he wrote for a new car. In his career, his gambler's luck and his own daring led him to 50 NASCAR Grand National win.

By the 1962 NASCAR Grand National season, cars had bigger engines and were reaching speeds above 150 mph. All the major automakers returned to NASCAR to form factory teams. Get results of all the 1962 NASCAR races.

Joe Weatherly was the unlikely winner of the 1963 NASCAR Grand National championship. Also this year NASCAR mandated a limit on engine displacement which helped keep parts from becoming obsolete. Learn the results from each of the 55 NASCAR races of 1963.

The 1964 NASCAR Grand National season was supercharged by Chrysler's new Hemi engine. This monster engine gave Richard Petty the power to run 20 miles per hour faster than the year before. See the results from all 62 NASCAR races in 1964.

NASCAR's 2005 NEXTEL Cup winner Tony Stewart was decided by the very last race. Unfortunately, two of NASCAR's biggest stars -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Jeff Gordon --failed to make the Chase. Review the exciting season with our 2005 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup results.

Despite challenge from Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson nabbed the 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup. Johnson won six races this season and finally put enough consistency together to win the championship. Review each race with our 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup results.

With the Chrysler Hemi banned from NASCAR Ford cars dominated the 1965 NASCAR Grand National season. NASCAR put a set of rules in place that worked to even out the playing field which is what did the Hemi in. Learn the results of all 55 races of 1965.

The 1985 NASCAR Winston Cup title was captured by three-time winner Darrell Waltrip. This season featured the inaugural running of The Winston which is a nonpoints race for NASCAR's all-stars. See results from the entire 1985 NASCAR season here.

During the 1986 NASCAR Winston Cup series, Dale Earnhardt earned the nickname "The Intimadator." The nickname was inspired by Earnhardt's aggressive driving style that often left opponents in up in smoke. See all race results from the 1986 NASCAR season.

David Pearson captured the 1966 NASCAR Grand National title on the strength of his 15 wins. Chrysler also returned this year, which brought a much-needed boost in spirit to the series. See the results from each race during the 1966 season.

For the 1987 NASCAR Winston Cup season, champion Dale Earnhardt finished 489 points ahead of Bill Elliott. Earnhardt won six of the first eight races that set the pace for him to take the championship by April. See all race results from 1987 NASCAR.

Richard Petty ruled the 1967 NASCAR Grand National season with a record 27 wins. Even more impressive. Petty managed to put together a 10-race consecutive winning streak. Get the full results of all 49 races in the 1967 NASCAR season here.

The 1968 NASCAR Grand National season was thrilling with two drivers winning 16 races each. Richard Petty and David Pearson duked it out for the championship while new tracks in Michigan and Texas were built. Get all the results of the races in the 1968 season.

The 1988 NASCAR Winston Cup title was closely contended by Bill Elliott, Rusty Wallace, and Dale Earnhardt. Elliott held off a late-season charge by Rusty Wallace and took the hotly contested championship title. See all 1988 NASCAR race results here.

New superspeedways thrilled the crowds during the 1969 NASCAR Grand National season. The Alabama International Motor Speedway opened for the Talladega 500 with a caution-free race.

Lloyd Seay's prodigious racing talent was sadly wasted when he was murdered at a young age. Bill France heralded Seay as the greatest stock car driver that ever lived, though Seay was killed before NASCAR was founded.

The veteran drivers were challenged in 1990 by a new group of younger competitors eager to win the title. The 1990 NASCAR Winston Cup championship featured a close battle between Dale Earnhardt and Mark Martin. See all 1990 NASCAR race results here.